top of page
Search
  • Nutrition Navigators

How to handle eating when you're stressed

Welcome to today's blog! In case you're new here, let me give you the run down of these weekly Thursday posts. The purpose of these entries is to help guide you on your path towards making better eating choices and developing a better relationship with food. That being said, your nutrition navigators are also here to help answer any questions you have that these blogs don't have the answers to, so feel free to use us at your convenience by visiting our instagram (@nutritionnavigators) 🙂


Now, let's get started on today's topic, shall we?



 

I want to preface this by saying we have ALL dropped the ball on this one before, and yes, even your favorite health influencer. Now I'll be brave and say that, despite my fascination with nutrition, this week has been one that has made me lose a bit of sight on that particular priority. I haven't cooked as much nor grocery shopped, and I've treated myself to a few comfort meals. All of that is completely okay. It's actually one of the main ideas of this whole picture of health; you cannot and should not always be perfect.


 

Now, the reason I started out with that tidbit up top is because, from my personal experience, people are way too harsh on themselves when they go out of their routine. However, when you reach these inevitable lows in life where you don't feel like working out, making your own meals, or even grocery shop, it's often times a signal that something else needs to take priority: your mental health. Be gentler on yourself.


If a certain physique is the main goal that motivates you on your nutrition journey, remind yourself that no one has ever been unable to obtain that physique because they ate pizza a few days this week. If overall health is your main goal, remind yourself that nobody has ever died from eating a combo meal from Wendy's at 1 am a few nights (early mornings, technically) a couple times.




 

Although going easier on yourself while you're low is the most important advice I have in terms of eating when you're stressed, there are some things to address. Stress eating, or over-eating, for one, is a very real thing that happens often. Maybe you guys can relate, but one of the things I would tell myself is that I should be rewarded for my stresses and treat myself to my favorite calorically-dense snack or meal. What happens when that occurs over and over again? I end up bingeing without even noticing.


Now remember what I said above? Don't be afraid to treat yourself! However, when you find it becoming excessive, try to reward yourself to your favorite nutrient dense meals or snacks rather than calorically dense. There is comfort in making and enjoying a delicate fruit nut salad with truffle oil and vinaigrette, or an exquisite smoothie bowl with cacao nibs, coconut, seeds, and a honey drizzle. If you feel the foods you make aren't giving you that satisfying, comfort taste or feeling, try spicing it up with seasonings or toppings, or just try new recipes in general (health food TikTok has some amazing ones!)


Lastly, I want to point out that mental and physical health tie hand in hand; when one flourishes, so does the other. Taking care of yourself physically will help lift you up mentally, so try to remember that the next time you feel like you don't want to cook a meal or shop for groceries. Stay safe and have an amazing week!


~Vicky Le


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page